top of page

ESC Kiev 2017

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 was the 62nd edition of the Eurovision Song Contest, the EBU's annual song contest for the organisation's member countries.

The competition took place in the Kiev International Exhibition Center in Ukraine, after Jamala won with the song "1944" in 2016. StarWorks was in place as responsible in the viewing room.

This was the second time Ukraine organized the competition, the first time was in 2005, also in Kiev. The competition consisted of three broadcasts: a semi-final on Tuesday 9 May, a semi-final on Thursday 11 May and the final on Saturday 13 May 2017. All broadcasts were hosted by Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostaptchuk and Timur Miroshnychenko. 42 countries took part in the competition, the same number as the previous year. Portugal and Romania returned after a one-year hiatus, while Bosnia and Herzegovina, which participated in 2016, withdrew due to financial problems at broadcaster BHRT. Originally, Russia was also supposed to participate, but withdrew a few weeks before the competition since the country's participant, Yulia Samoylova, was refused entry to Ukraine.

Of the participating countries, 36 countries had to go through one of the two semi-finals, and 20 of them qualified for the final on Saturday 13 May. In addition, the host country Ukraine and the five "big countries" took part in the final, so the number of participants in the final was 26 countries. The winner of the competition was Salvador Sobral from Portugal with the song "Amar pelos dois". The winning song had Portuguese lyrics and was written by Sobral's sister, Luísa Sobral. This was the country's first victory in the Eurovision Song Contest. It was also the first time since 2007, when Marija Serifovic won with the song "Molitva", that a non-English-language song won the competition. Salvador Sobral got the highest score in the competition until then, with 758 points. Bulgaria came second with 615 points, followed by Moldova with 374 points.

The Norwegian contribution was the song "Grab the Moment", performed by JOWST and Aleksander Walmann. The Norwegian song participated in semi-final 2, where it finished in fifth place and thus qualified for the final. In the end, Norway finished in tenth place in the final – the country's fourth top ten ranking since 2013. The three broadcasts were seen by 182 million viewers worldwide, a decrease of 22 million from the previous year.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page